Ruling and clarifications (English)

Various official rulings and clarifications for the game X-ODUS – Rise of the Corruption.

50 – 70x110mm (Explorations and Signals)

60 – 44x67mm (Modules and Damage)

36 – 59x91mm (Enemies, Avatars and Reference)

36 – 51x51mm (Augmentations)

Rulebook

The rulebook mentions 28 Scraps markers, when the game only contains 23. This is a mistake in the rulebook.

You can find the rulebook here:

http://go.boredgameink.com/rulebook-EN

Allies

During the setup, you get to choose the two allies that will be in play during the game. Picking them has a strategic value, as you can choose allies whose skills will reinforce your strengths or offset your weaknesses.

Some examples:

  • The Cartographer will do wonders for battle-oriented teams lacking speed to reveal systems efficiently.
  • The Engineer will offer some much needed repairs if the Drone Specialist is absent.
  • The Mercenary will save exploration-oriented Fleets from treacherous combats.

The exploration card Trapped Ally has one option (locked behind a skill roll) that grants a new random Ally as a reward.

If unlocked, just place the card near the board, and use one Ally III marker on the tile and the other on the card to remember its position.

Avatars

The Avatar movement rules have been revised to take into account some new ruling, such as the revamped hiding mechanic.

An Avatar always targets the closest player or Fleet that is not already engaged with another Avatar or hidingand moves towards them using the shortest possible path.

[…]

If an Avatar is equidistant from two players or Fleets, it will pick its target following these priorities:

  1. Player or Fleet carrying the most Keys.
  2. Single player with the least amount of remaining Hull.
  3. Fleet with the least amount of remaining Hull.

If all the players or Fleets are hiding, the Avatars will target them following the normal movement rules but won’t engage them until the beginning of the next Action phase, thus ignoring the Aggressive Engagement rule.

In case of a pure tie, use the Corrupt rule to decide.

[…]

Rulebook p.16 – You can also disengage and hide in the system, immediately ending your turn. In that case, normal detection rules will apply at the beginning of your next turn.

If you hide in the system, an Avatar will ignore you during its Corruption phase, as you are “immune” to detection rules until your next turn. As a result, it will hunt down another player or Fleet on the board.

If it rolls 1 or more movement, then it will leave your tile and you’ll be free to play normally at the beginning of your next turn.

However, if the Avatar rolls a 0, it will remain on your tile (but won’t engage you since you’re hidden). When the next turn starts, normal detection rules will apply, and you are always detected by an Avatar. Therefore, it engages you, but you do not perform a Damage Roll since you’re no longer in the Corruption phase.

Rulebook P. 19 – The aggressive engagement rule does not apply if you engage an Avatar during the action phase.

As a result, one player hiding in the system can be a good strategy, as it means that player will lose an entire turn instead of the whole party (the Corruption rises by 1 when the last player leaves the system), but there is a risk that player will end up in a deadly situation, or cut off from their friends.

Rulebook p. 18 – When the last player (or Fleet) in a system occupied by Avatars leaves this system after disengaging, the Corruption marker immediately progresses on the timeline.

If the Corruption reaches a new step (with the red Avatar symbol) because of that effect, “pause” the game after your Jump / Blind Jump / Hyperspace Rush, shuffle the 4 new Enemies from the Reserve into the deck, and draw a new Avatar. It enters the play following its usual movement rules.

This Avatar won’t move until the Corruption phase.

Although unlikely, it is possible because of this to escape from an Avatar and jump into another one (by jumping or blind jumping into a Corrupt system).

Enemies and Combats

The entire sequence represents one attack only in the combat, you can perform as many attacks as you want, as they don’t cost an Action.

Rulebook p. 15 – Each Module can only be used once per attack or action.

You can use each module once per attack (the entire sequence), not once per combat (unless specified).

 

Attack roll

The rulebook mentions combined rolls, it’s a wording mistake. Each rolls are individual, and ⭕️, ⚡ and Hits are not meant to be shared among players, unless a Module or Augmentation specifically says so.

 

Retaliation

The retaliation only happens after all the Modules and Augmentations have been played. Players take damage from ⭕️ only at this point in the sequence. Which means any ⭕️ ignored or successfully re-rolled do not count as damages to the hull.

 

Abilities

Enemy abilities that affect combat (triggered on ⭕️) apply mostly at this point (one exception is the Level 2 – Defender which triggers during the Attack Power phase). Again, ignored or successfully re-rolled ⭕️ do not count

Rulebook p. 16 – When an Enemy’s Hull reaches 0, it is immediately defeated and doesn’t retaliate.

In that case, ignore all ⭕️ from your rolls, as well as Enemy abilities, except for those that specifically say: “When you defeat the enemy”.

The only exception is the Level 2 – Defender, whose ability triggers before inflicting damages.

Rulebook p.16: Once you’ve disengaged, you (are free to) can only Jump, Blind Jump, or perform a Hyperspace Rush out of the system (normal action costs apply).

New wording. These are the only available actions (apart from hiding in the system). You can’t Send a probe, Explore, Scavenge, Trade or perform a Ship Maintenance since the enemy is still actively chasing you.

If an Enemy is defeated, it is discarded, not shuffled back into the deck.

If you disengage, the Enemy stays on the board until the End phase (see below).

During the End phase, all the Enemies left on the board are shuffled back into the Enemy deck, except those in a System where a player or Fleet is currently hiding.

The same rules apply to Enemies from a higher level that came into play because of the + symbol on the orange tiles. They are shuffled / discarded in the main deck / discard and are now part of it.

When an Enemy has an ability that triggers on the players rolling ⭕️ (misses), it activates if and only if the ⭕️ are not ignored or rerolled by modules or augmentations.

Rulebook p.16 – You can also disengage and hide in the system, immediately ending your turn. In that case, normal detection rules will apply at the beginning of your next turn.

At the beginning of your next turn, you have to perform a Detection Roll, as if you had just entered the system. If you are detected, you need to engage the Enemy that stayed in the system during the End Phase.

Rulebook p.20 – Shuffle Enemy cards left on the board back into the Enemy deck, unless a player is hidden in the system.

Rulebook p.16 – An Enemy keeps its hull damages until it is replaced on the battle mat.

When you disengage and run away from an enemy, it stays on the Battle mat for the time being, and its damages stay as well.

If another player or Fleet reach it, they can pick the fight where you left it off.

However, if you or another player or Fleet engage a new Enemy or Avatar on the board, it replaces the current one on the Battle mat, in effect “repairing” all its damages.

The same is true for the Avatars.

Explorations

When you reveal an Exploration card, it has to be solved right away, in one go, and then discarded.

An Exploration doesn’t stay on the board for the other players, or for later use. There are three cases:

  • Analysis, where you can spend extra actions to trigger more rewards. These extra actions are not considered Explorations (for the sake of modules and XP conditions for example).
  • Warning, where you get to pick only one option.
  • Danger, where you have to pass a Skill Roll.

In all three cases, once you’re done with the Exploration, it is immediately discarded.

If another player is in the system while a player or Fleet performs an Exploration, they can’t join in(since their turn hasn’t started yet).

You need to be part of the Fleet in order to join in the Exploration, even if you are on the same tile.

You also can’t decide to join the Fleet after the card has been revealed but before it is solved. The Exploration, like a fight, prevent players and Fleets from doing anything else until it is concluded.

If you run out of markers, you have to move one from a yet unexplored tile, thus permanently losing that exploration.

Thematically, the window of opportunity for this exploration has closed.

Fleet

Rulebook p.6 – Straining can be done at any point during your turn, not just when you have spent all your actions.

Since it’s not an action, you can strain in a Fleet even if the other players don’t.

For example, you play the Warship and have 3 actions. You move once to join the Battlecruiser and Prototype, and form a Fleet with them. The Fleet currently has 2 actions left (your own). If you Strain to gain an extra action, the Battlecruiser and Prototype won’t have to, since they still have their 3 actions.

Rulebook p.6 – A Fleet always has the same number of actions as the player with the fewest remaining amount at the time of the formation. 

Becomes: A Fleet always has the same number of actions as the player with the fewest remaining amount at any given time.

Rulebook p.9 – All the players in a Fleet roll their dice together. If any one of them rolls at least 1 ⭕️,the entire Fleet is detected.

Rulebook p.6 – When 2 or more players are on the same tile, they can form a Fleet (without spending an action) that will be active until the end of the turn.

Since forming a Fleet is not an action, you can join another player in an Enemy system, add this player to your Fleet (or form one with them if you’re alone) and only then trigger the fight.

If you sneak in an Enemy system (by succeeding in a Detection Roll) and another player is hiding in the system, it can join your Fleet. But by doing so, they will start their own turn and will have to perform their own Detection roll.

If Detected, the entire Fleet has to fight.

New ruling: When a player joins an existing Fleet, they start their turn. Effects that trigger at the beginning of the turn (Detection rolls, modules activation…) must be resolved accordingly.

Rulebook p. 7 : Buy Modules from an Ally or trade Scraps, Ship Modules, Precursor Modules, and Precursor Keys with ships in your system.

If a Fleet is in a system with an Ally, they have to choose between trading with this Ally (and they can pool their resources to do so) or trading among each other. They can’t do both on the same action.

The same is true if another player (not part of the Fleet) is in the system. They can trade with that player, or the Ally, but not both at once.

Rulebook p. 6 : Players in a Fleet must perform the same action on the same target.

When they trade among themselves, they’re free to do so with anyone in the Fleet. In that case, the target is the Fleet itself.

Hyperspace rush

Rulebook p.7 – Jump three times in a row to adjacent, already revealed, connected systems.

When performing a hyperspace rush, you have to jump three times in a row. You can’t just jump twice (to avoid detection in Enemy systems for example).

You can use a hyperspace rush through a wormhole. It takes 1 movement to reach the wormhole, and 1 to jump to another wormhole anywhere on the board (and you still have an extra movement before or after).

Rulebook p. 8 : Systems with wormholes are all considered adjacent to one another.

Player Ships

Level Up Condition:

WHEN YOU FORM A FLEET
This effect triggers whether you form or join a Fleet.

Augmentations:

1 – MAGNET SHIELD
Every player can choose to ignore this effect individually.
Rulebook p. 15 – You may choose to ignore the beneficial effects of a Module.

2 – PROTECTOR LASER
When both dice show ⚡️ you get the bonus for both of them.

2 – INTERCEPTOR LASER
When both dice show ⚡️ you get the bonus for both of them. While you won’t be able to use the “Ignore ⭕️” part (since you didn’t roll any), the extra Hits do stack up.

3 – FOCUSED TACTICAL ARRAY
For the condition to be met, the targeted player has to reroll both dice. It doesn’t work if said player chose to defend, or with certain modules such as the Battlecruiser’s Battlelord Arsenal.

3 – FLEET TACTICAL ARRAY
Every player can choose to ignore this effect individually.

4 – ENERGY RELAYS (INPUT)
Since every Module can only be activated once per attack/turn, only one Ship can spend one Energy to pay for one Module.

4 – ENERGY RELAYS (OUTPUT)
Since every Module can only be activated once per attack/turn, this Ship can only spend one Energy to pay for one Module of another Ship.

5 – TACTICIAN ARSENAL

5 – BATTLELORD ARSENAL
If you roll three ⭕️, you lose three Hull and draw one Damage Card.

6 – ABSORBING AMMO

6 – REACTIVE AMMO

Level Up Condition:

WHEN YOU USE A REPAIR ACTION
The Ship gets only 1 XP per Action, no matter how many Ships or Hulls have been repaired with the same Repair.

Augmentations:

1 – REPAIR DRONE
Only one Scrap must be spend regardless of the number of Hull repaired.
This effect can be combined with “Replicating Drone”. Example: For 4 Energy this ship could repair 3 Hull on 3 different ships.

2 – PROGRAMMABLE DRONE
Even though this effect doesn’t cost an Action, it does cost a Scrap.

2 – MONITORING DRONE

3 – REPLICATING DRONE
Only one Scrap must be spend regardless of the number of Ships repaired.
This effect can be combined with “Repair Drone”. Example: For 4 Energy this ship could repair 3 Hull on 3 different ships.

3 – HYPERSPACE DRONE

4 – EMERGENCY DRONE

4 – MAINTENANCE DRONE
When both dice show ⚡️ after a Strain, you only get one additional Strain, not two.
The sequence is Strain – Damage Roll – if ⚡️ then you recover your Strain. You can then choose to Strain again, thus cycling through the sequence, up to 3 times per turn.
The total number of possible actions is therefore: 3 (normal actions) + 1 (strain) + 3 (Maintenance Drone) = 7

5 – FLEET ENERGY RELAYS

5 – QUANTUM ENERGY RELAYS

6 – FLEET REVIVAL PROTOCOL

6 – FLEET DRIVE SHIELD
This effect can be combined with “Maintenance Drone”.

Level Up Condition:

WHEN YOU USE AN EXPLORE ACTION
This is also true for exploring Precursor Signals and the Main Rift.
Spending Actions to select additional options on an Analysis Exploration Card is not considered to be an extra Exploration. The Explorer won’t get additional XP for doing so.

Augmentations:

1 – STEALTH CLOAK

2 – HYPERSPACE SCANNER
You gain Scraps for every revealed System, even when revealing multiple Systems within the same Action.

2 – SYSTEMWIDE SCANNER
You gain Scraps not just for Exploration Cards but also for exploring Precursor Signals and the Main Rift (when delivering Keys).

3 – DUAL PROBE LAUNCHER
The additional System has to be adjacent to the System you’re currently in, not the one you just revealed.

3 – HYPERSPACE PROBE LAUNCHER

4 – HYPERSPACE SENSOR

4 – SYSTEMWIDE SENSOR

5 – HYPERSPACE EXTENDER
This can’t be used while in a Fleet.

5 – HYPERSPACE SHIELD
This can’t be used while in a Fleet.
This effect costs one Energy regardless of how many Avatars are in the way.

6 – AUTOMATED COMPUTING
You can’t reroll both dice if both show ⚡️ because a die which triggers a Module can’t be rerolled.

Rulebook p. 15 – You can’t reroll or ignore a die if you used it to trigger another Module during this attack (such as a ⚡️ modifier, or a ⭕️ effect.)

6 – AUTOMATED TARGETING
You can’t reroll both dice if both show ⚡️ because a die which triggers a Module can’t be rerolled.

Level Up Condition:

WHEN YOU GAIN SCRAPS DURING COMBAT OR EXPLORATIONS
Modules which give Scraps for performing the Explore Action do count for this, but you can gain at most only 1 XP per Explore Action.

Augmentations:

1 – PIRATE’S TOOLKIT
Losing 1 Scrap is mandatory. This effect can’t be activated if you haven’t got any.

2 – SMUGGLER’S TOOLKIT

2 – SCAVENGER’S TOOLKIT

3 – DECOY SIGNAL
This can also be done in Systems with multiple Enemies by drawing the two Enemies one at a time.

3 – DECOY PROBE
This can also be done in Systems with multiple Enemies but the System only gets pacified if all Enemies got shuffled back.

4 – DRIVE FIELD INHIBITOR
You can break loose from the Fleet using this effect by jumping into another System (only after the Fleet is done playing though).

4 – DRIVE FIELD EXTENDER

5 – VIRUS BOMB
Losing 1 Scrap is mandatory. This effect can’t be activated if you haven’t got any.
You lose Scraps only for the rerolled die.

5 – DIRTY BOMB
Losing 1 Scrap is mandatory. This effect can’t be activated if you haven’t got any.
You lose Scraps only for the rerolled die.

6 – SCAVENGER’S ARSENAL
When both dice show ⚡️ you get the bonus for both of them.

6 – PIRATE’S ARSENAL
When both dice show ⚡️ you get the bonus for both of them.

Level Up Condition:

WHEN YOU ROLL AT LEAST 3 HITS DURING ATTACK ROLLS
This effect can trigger only once per attack, but several times per combat.

Augmentations:

1 – QUANTUM BEAM
You have to reroll both dice. You can’t reroll just one. It doesn’t work if you chose to defend since the condition isn’t met (you only have 1 die).

2 – WEAPON CHARGER
Stacks up with Augmentation 6′ ⚡️ effects.

2 – WEAPON OVERCHARGER
Stacks up with Augmentation 6′ ⚡️ effects.

3 – ION CANNON

3 – ION FIELD GENERATOR
You have to use this effect “Before an Attack Roll”, therefore it can’t be used to disable “When you Disengage Abilities”.

4 – PROTOTYPE GENERATOR

4 – PROTOTYPE SHIELD

5 – EM GENERATOR

5 – EM BEAM
This effect can be used to ignore ⭕️ from other ships in the Fleet.

6 – PERFORATING BEAM
When both dice show ⚡️ you the bonus for both of them.

6 – FEEDBACK BEAM
When both dice show ⚡️ you the bonus for both of them.

Level Up Condition:

WHEN YOU DEFEAT AN ENEMY
If you fight multiple enemies (when on an Enemy system with two symbols for example), you gain 1 XP per Enemy. The Avatars are treated as Enemies as well.

Augmentations

1 – BERSERKER CANNON
A ⭕️ on the rerolled die does not count as a Critical Miss. A Critical Miss only trigger if both dice show ⭕️. In that case, you still lose 2 Hull, but don’t draw a Damage card.

2 – ABSORBING ALLOYS

2 – REAVER ALLOYS

3 – SCATTERED BEAM
If you rolled a Critical Miss, both ⭕️ also count as 2 Hits (for a total of 4).
This effect also works twice on a ⭕️ that was doubled by the effect of the Berserker Cannon.

3 – FOCUSED BEAM

4 – HEAVY AMMO
When both dice show ⚡️ you get the bonus for both of them.

4 – REAVER AMMO
When both dice show ⚡️ you get the bonus for both of them.

5 – HULL CONVECTORS

5 – DAMAGE CONVECTORS

6 – HEALING ENERGY

6 – NECROTIC ENERGY

Some augmentations or card effects will ask you to pick a die from the reserve. It means all the dice not used during the current game.

You can only pick a die from the unused ones, not borrow one from another player.

Questions or doubts? Check out the official page on BGG

Privacy Preference Center